The Yale Series of Younger Poets champions the most promising new American poets. Awarded since 1919, past winners include Muriel Rukeyser, Adrienne Rich, William Meredith, W.S. Merwin, John Ashbery, John Hollander, James Tate, and Carolyn Forché. In April 2010, Carl Phillips was named as the new judge of the Yale Series of Younger Poets, replacing Louise Glück. Phillips has chosen Eduardo C. Corral’s Slow Lightning as the 2011 competition winner. Both Phillips and Corral read from their works. Reception and book signing to follow.

Co-sponsored with Letras Latinas

Introductions by Francisco Aragón, Director, Letras Latinas
and Carl Phillips; conversation moderated by Francisco Aragón

Eduardo C. Corral’s work has a beautiful intoxicating danger to it and a resistance to categorization. He is the 2011 recipient of the Yale Series of Younger Poets award and the first Latino poet to win the competition. Corral’s poems have appeared in Beloit Poetry Journal, New England Review, Ploughshares, and Poetry. He has received a Discovery/The Nation award and the 2011 Whiting Writers Award.

Carl Phillips’s work ruminates on mortal themes with lyrical grace and precision. He is the award-winning author of twelve books of poetry, including Double Shadow, which was a finalist for the 2011 National Book Award for poetry and won the 2011 Los Angeles Times Book Prize. He teaches at Washington University in St. Louis.

"One of the more surprising possibilities offered in these poems is joy."
— Yale Younger Series judge and poet Carl Phillips on Corral’s Slow Lightning

from Self-Portrait with Tumbling and Lasso

My soul is 
above my head like a lasso. 
        My right hand
a pistol. My left
        automatic. I'm knocking
on every door. 
        I'm coming on strong . . .

From Slow Lightning © 2012 by Eduardo C. Corral, published by Yale University Press. Used with permission.