The 37th Annual PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

Saturday, May 06, 2017, 7:00 pm
Folger Theatre

Given since 1981 to the best works of fiction published by an American citizen in a calendar year, the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is the United States’ largest peer-juried prize in the field. This year’s judges are Chris Abani, Chantel Acevedo, and Sigrid Nunez. The 2017 winner is Imbolo Mbue, and the finalists are Viet Dinh, Louise Erdrich, Garth Greenwell, and Sunil Yapa. The Ceremony includes readings by all authors and citations by the judges. 

Washington Post book critic Ron Charles will be the MC this year.

Following the Ceremony, there will be a full buffet dinner with open bar, including beer provided by Bluejacket Brewery and specialty cocktails provided by District Distilling Co