Henry Purcell and Music of 17th-Century London

Friday, October 22, 2021, 8:00 pm
Virtual, on-demand

Available for streaming now through June 30, 2022. Folger Consort subscribers will automatically receive access to the concert video.

Folger Consort celebrates the musical treasures of Restoration London and its leading composer, Henry Purcell. The favorite composer of London’s theaters, Purcell’s flair for the dramatic will be on display in his arias and incidental music for The Fairy Queen and other works for the stage. Exploring Purcell's more refined side, the Consort unearths the wonderfully melodic and inventive Baroque musical gems of his instrumental music. While at their heart they exemplify Baroque English style, the detailed part-writing, unusual disonnances, and motivic unity of works like his Chacony in G minor bring to mind more familiar chamber music of later centuries.

The program also includes earlier instrumental works, such as the rarely-performed suites of William Lawes and Matthew Locke which foreshadow the intricacy of Purcell’s instrumental music, and vocal selections illustrating the various styles of songwriting popular in 17th-century London. With viol consort and Baroque strings, harpsichordist Joseph Gascho, and soprano Jessica Beebe.

Join Folger Consort Artistic Director Robert Eisenstein for a related Early Music Seminar on Wednesday, October 20, at 6:00pm. Access to the Early Music Seminar is free for Folger Consort subscribers.


Music of Henry Purcell's predecessors
William Lawes: Royall Consort Sett no. 5 in D major
Henry Lawes: The Lark
Charles Coleman: Venus lamenting her lost Adonis
Nicholas Lanier: No more shall meads be deck'd with flow'rs
Matthew Locke: Consort Suite no. 2 in D major

Music of Henry Purcell
Music, for a while (from Oedipus)
I'll sail upon a dog-star (from A Fool's Preferment)
Two in One upon a ground (from Dioclesian)
Fantasia in Four Parts, Z. 742
Suite in A minor for harpsichord solo, Z. 663
Sweeter than roses (from Pausanius)
Hark! The echoing air (from The Fairy Queen)
Sonata no. 7 in C major, Z. 808 (from Ten Sonatas in Four Parts)
Now the sun hath veiled his light ("An Evening Hymn")
Chacony in G minor, Z. 730
Now the night is chas'd away (from The Fairy Queen)

Read the playbill for this concert.



We hold paramount the safety of our audience, artists, staff members, and entire Folger community. With growing concerns around the COVID-19 Delta variant, and out of an abundance of caution, this concert will be offered exclusively as a digital experience. The concert will be available via on-demand streaming starting October 22. Please stay tuned for details and further updates as needed.

Who's Who

Jessica Beebe
Violin, Viol
Violin, Viols, Artistic Director
Joseph Gascho
Lute, Theorbo, Artistic Director