Hours and Closings

Building & Exhibitions
Monday–Saturday:
10am – 5pm
Sunday: noon – 5pm

Reading Room
Monday–Friday:
8:45am – 4:45pm
Saturday: 9am – noon
and 1pm – 4:30pm

Reading Room and Folger offices are closed on Federal holidays.

The Folger's building and exhibitions are open to the public every day except Thanksgiving and Christmas, Mondays through Saturdays from 10am through 5pm and Sundays from noon to 5pm; the building, including the exhibition, also opens one hour before ticketed performances and programs. 

The Folger strives to keep the Great Hall and Reading Rooms open at their regularly scheduled and posted hours, but sometimes we need to close for exhibit installations, private events, and (for the Reading Rooms) federal holidays. We do our best to list our closings in advance so that visitors and readers can anticipate their plans. Below are the dates and times that the Great Hall will be closed over the next few months and that the Reading Rooms will be closed for the year.

Great Hall closings | Reading Room closings
 

Great Hall closings

Early closings (4pm)

  • Tuesday, October 10, 2017
  • Friday, October 20, 2017
  • Wednesday, October 25, 2017
  • Tuesday, October 31, 2017
  • Friday, December 1, 2017
  • Wednesday, December 6, 2017
  • Saturday, December 9, 2017 

Reading Room closings


All-day closings

  • Monday, October 9, 2017
  • Friday, November 10, 2017
  • Thursday, November 23, 2017
  • Monday, December 25, 2017
  • Tuesday, December 26, 2017

Early closings

  • Wednesday, October 18, 2017, 2:30pm

 

Building & Exhibitions
Monday–Saturday:
10am – 5pm
Sunday: noon – 5pm

Reading Room
Monday–Friday:
8:45am – 4:45pm
Saturday: 9am – noon
and 1pm – 4:30pm

Reading Room and Folger offices are closed on Federal holidays.