Hours and Closings

Building & Exhibitions
Monday–Saturday:
10am – 5pm
Sunday: noon – 5pm

Reading Room
Monday–Friday:
8:45am – 4:45pm
Saturday: 9am – noon
and 1pm – 4:30pm

Reading Room and Folger offices are closed on Federal holidays.

The Folger's building and exhibitions are open to the public every day except Thanksgiving and Christmas, Mondays through Saturdays from 10am through 5pm and Sundays from noon to 5pm; the building, including the exhibition, also opens one hour before ticketed performances and programs. 

The Folger strives to keep the Great Hall and Reading Rooms open at their regularly scheduled and posted hours, but sometimes we need to close for exhibit installations, private events, and (for the Reading Rooms) federal holidays. We do our best to list our closings in advance so that visitors and readers can anticipate their plans. Below are the dates and times that the Great Hall will be closed over the next few months and that the Reading Rooms will be closed for the year.

 Late night hoursGreat Hall closings | Reading Room closings

 

Late night hours

Open until 8pm

  • Friday, April 20
  • Friday, April 27
  • Friday, May 18
  • Friday, May 25

Great Hall closings

Early closings (4pm)

  • Thursday, April 26
  • Saturday, May 5
  • Sunday, May 6
  • Tuesday, May 22
  • Wednesday, May 23
  • Thursday, May 31

Reading Room closings

All-day closings

  • Monday, May 28

 

Building & Exhibitions
Monday–Saturday:
10am – 5pm
Sunday: noon – 5pm

Reading Room
Monday–Friday:
8:45am – 4:45pm
Saturday: 9am – noon
and 1pm – 4:30pm

Reading Room and Folger offices are closed on Federal holidays.