Hours and Closings

Reading Room
Monday–Friday:
8:45am – 4:45pm
Saturday: 9am – noon
and 1pm – 4:30pm

Reading Room and Folger offices are closed on Federal holidays.

The Folger's building and exhibitions are open to the public every day except Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Monday – Saturday
10am – 5pm

Sunday
Noon – 5pm

The building, including the exhibition, also opens one hour before ticketed performances and programs. 

The Folger strives to keep the Great Hall and Reading Rooms open at their regularly scheduled and posted hours, but sometimes we need to close for exhibit installations, private events, and (for the Reading Rooms) federal holidays. We do our best to list our closings in advance so that visitors and readers can anticipate their plans. 

Great Hall closings

Early closings (4pm unless otherwise noted)

2019

  • Thursday, September 5
  • Tuesday, September 10
  • Thursday, October 3
  • Friday, October 25
  • Wednesday, November 6

All-day closings

2019

  • Thursday, November 28
  • Wednesday, December 25

2020

  • Wednesday, January 1

Reading Room closings

All-day closings

2019

  • Monday, September 2
  • Monday, October 14
  • Monday, November 11
  • Thursday, November 28
  • Friday, November 29
  • Wednesday, December 25

2020

  • Wednesday, January 1

Reading Room
Monday–Friday:
8:45am – 4:45pm
Saturday: 9am – noon
and 1pm – 4:30pm

Reading Room and Folger offices are closed on Federal holidays.